Find Your Park logo
Read about the Newest National Natural Landmark
NNL 50th Anniversary

For the more information about the air resources of the National Park Service, please visit


Arnold Engineering Development Center Natural Areas
Arnold Engineering Development Center Natural Areas, a National Natural Landmark in Tennessee.

There are 13 National Natural Landmark sites located within the state of Tennessee. Natural features represented include one of the longest caves in the country, the largest known underground lake in the country, and one of the best remaining examples of a cedar glade community. All 13 sites received NNL designation in a nine-year perioid from 1966 to 1974. Sites range in size from 9 acres to over 1,100 acres and are owned by a variety of landowners including U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, U.S. Air Force, Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation and private individuals.

Below is a map of sites in Tennessee.

National Natural Landmark sites are located in the following counties: Coffee, Cumberland, Franklin, Grundy, Hardeman, Lake, Monroe, Obion, Rhea, Van Buren, Warren, and Wilson.

← Back to listing of all states and territories.

Tennessee state map Reelfoot Lake Lost Sea (Craighead Caverns) Cedar Glades Natural Area McAnulty's Woods Dick Cove Piney Falls Big Bone Cave Savage Gulf Conley Hole Arnold Engineering Development Center Natural Areas May Prairie Cumberland Cavern (Higginbotham and Henshaw Caves)

Please remember, National Natural Landmarks (NNLs) are not national parks. NNL status does not indicate public ownership, and many sites are not open for visitation.


Last Updated: July 19, 2016